19. Invictus

Out of the night that covers me
Black as the Pit from pole to pole
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place or wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate
How charged with punishments the scroll
I am the master of my fate
I am the captain of my soul.

— William Ernest Henley

📝

One of the perks between Sires and Childes was the telepathic connection that existed between them – it wasn’t strong enough to engage in anything really cool like reading one’s mind, but it was strong enough for any Sire or Childe to always sense the other’s well-being at the very least.

That’s how James found out his newest Chile had been killed only instants after she had finally, successfully been turned. Successful vampire transformations weren’t an exact matter of course: not nearly all humans who were turned into vampires managed to survive – and those who had already been turned before stood even less of a chance.

But Tori had pulled through. She had lived – only to die almost immediately. Balling his hands into fists, James let out a string of curse words so blue they made navy look pink.

He was just thinking up a solid revenge plan, when his phone rang.

When he hung up some ten minutes later, the anger had subsided. Instead, a grin was now formed solidly on his lips.

It may have taken more than a thousand years… but James felt suddenly overcome with a feeling that the time had finally come for his legacy to reign.

***

Calo walked up the steps to one of Forgotten Hollow’s most sinister-looking abodes. Heard the voices of his ‘allies’ behind him, remaining firmly rooted on the safety of Hollow’s public paths.

“Are you sure this is a good idea, Calo?”

“Yeah… I mean, from what you told us the last time you chatted with him didn’t exactly end well for you…”

“Just shut up and follow me,” Calo barked.

When he heard a low voice bark a “come in,” Calo hesitantly stepped into the manor. Tried his best to hide his insecurity as he walked through it, up the stairs until finally, he found him.

He was watching one of the soap operas his Mom used to make fun of, his gaze fixed on the television in front of him.

It couldn’t be that he hadn’t noticed Calo standing there, and yet he refused to acknowledge him. Calo was growing more nervous by the second.

Finally, he realized that he was going to have to make the first move, here. Brought a hand to his mouth and coughed to make his presence officially known.

Finally, James’ eyes left the television screen in front of him. He stood up and walked over to Calo – who swallowed hard.

When James extended his hand in a friendly gesture, Calo couldn’t quite hide his surprise.

“Calo Hoyt. What a welcome surprise.”

“James. I’ve been meaning to talk to you.”

James seized the boy before him up. “Very well. On one condition: the two clowns behind you go.”

Calo looked over his shoulder anxiously.

“Oh, come on, now. I promise you won’t need them.”

And so Calo gestured for the two vampires to go – but not before James signaled to one of them behind the former’s back.

Once they were gone, Calo decided that it might be best to just cut right to the chase.

“James… I need you.”

James shrugged – only barely managed to contain a haughty grin. “Of course you do… and I’m listening.”

***

Today was the day.

And Riley would be lying if she said she didn’t feel the tiniest bit of nervousness, creeping up her brain and seeping its way through every part of her through her veins. She was at the gym for one last workout…

As well as to finally create the potion which Riley could only hope would prove strong enough to defeat him with.

Only six hours left to defeat him, now.

When she ran into Chaya, she had to hide the excitement she immediately felt coursing through her body.

“Good luck,” she smiled. The look she threw her was meaningful.

Riley shot her a look back, her lips curling into a playful grin. “Join me,” she said.

Chaya tilted her head, trying to say no, but couldn’t stop a smile from forming on her lips. “Fine,” she finally said. “Let’s do this, then.”

***

Once at the Goth Mansion, she called Bella – who was held up at work and therefore couldn’t immediately be there. Asked Riley to wait a while, but Riley knew she had to do this now – the adrenaline was flowing through her veins, and she suddenly felt more confident than she had ever felt before in her entire life.

“Are you sure about this?” Bella couldn’t help but ask. She didn’t want to bring her daughter in doubt, but she also wanted her to know just how dangerous this little mission was–as much as Bella herself wanted it done, too.

“You don’t have to rush this for me. He’s a grand master, Riley… I’ve never heard of a human defeating a grand master vampire before. Not even those other species of occult could do it…”

“Then I’ll be the first,” Riley said, resolute.

“Just please be careful.”

“Don’t worry about me, Mom,” there wasn’t a hint of fear in Riley’s voice. “Today, you’ll be free.”

She walked up the porch, and opened the doors to the mansion before her.

But as she stepped into the Goth Mansion with Chaya, she suddenly felt overwhelmed with memories from her adolescence – memories of when she still lived here, with her normal, human mother and her father… back when she still had a normal life. Calo had taken that from her – all of it. He had taken her mother from her, had killed her father…

For one short moment, she thought of what might have been if Calo hadn’t targeted her or her family. She’d never allowed herself to think “what ifs” but for once, in this pivotal moment, she allowed herself one. What if Calo had never been in her life? She knew how different things would have been.

Chaya saw her struggle, and tried to comfort her. “Hey, it’ll be OK. You’re gonna beat the shit out of him. After today, he’ll be nothing. He’ll never be able to hurt anyone again, the way he hurt us. Never. And it’ll all be because of you.”

Riley swallowed hard – and smiled up at Chaya.

“Thank you.”

With renewed confidence surging through her, she finally walked into the living room.

***

She had been expecting to see Calo, but he was not alone. Stared at the other vampire in the room.

“That’s right,” Calo said, confronting her. “I knew you’d come. You thought I was stupid, did you? Well, I’m not. I knew all about that little plan of yours to take me down. I have eyes in every room and every corner,” he spat.

Chaya watched the display before her anxiously. Felt she could do nothing but stand there, helplessly – with James on Calo’s side right here, right now, she realized they may very well be screwed. If Riley could defeat Calo, which would already be difficult given his status, it’d already be such an achievement. But James… a thousand-year-old grand master vampire… Chaya knew better than to be optimistic, watching this unfold. There was no way either of them could take them both.

“So, baby,” Calo went on, sending Riley a menacing leer. “I say… Bring it on.”

If Riley were unsettled by James’ presence, she didn’t show it. “Oh, no, baby. I’d never underestimate you.” It was her turn to grin. “I never underestimate anyone.”

With that, she charged. Chaya stood shocked for just a moment – was she really going to attack Calo with James standing right there? But then, to Chaya’s surprise, James turned around and left. Shot her one last, unreadable look as he did – but he was gone.

Calo watched James with the same shock. Barely managed to let out a “Hey, where do you think you’re going?!” before Riley came with another punch and he was forced back into their fight; no time to call back James. And in that moment, everyone in the room realized: it was just Calo. He was on his own.

And, thanks to years of training, cunning, and never falling into the trap of underestimating an enemy as others had, Riley won.

Every journal she’d read on vampires and vampire slaying, had told her that no human could ever overpower a Grand Master – they had no match but themselves, and were to be avoided. The only way to overpower them, someone had suggested, was to become exactly what they were themselves – a vampire… and even then, she’d have to train until she reached a similar rank, to even stand a chance against them.

That had never appealed to Riley – she had always been fervent about not wanting to be a vampire, about not stooping down to the same level of her enemies… and so she hadn’t. And here she was, defying the odds. Slaying a Grand Master Vampire, all by her weak, human self.

“This might sting a little,” she said as she threw the cure in Calo’s face, ignoring his desperate cries of protest.

After the deed was done, Riley completely ignored Calo’s cries of sadness and anger as he had been turned human. It was over – after all those years, it was done. She could finally move on. And, she thought, pulling her mother who had arrived during the fight in for a long, loving hug, she would move on – there would be no more Calo in her life. Not anymore. She was not gonna let anyone rule her in any way, anymore.

Finally, after their long, much-needed mother-daughter moment was over, Bella responded to Calo’s cries.

“So what… you’re just gonna throw me on the street now?!” he said, more than desperate. “After everything I’ve done… all I’ve provided you with… that’s what you’re gonna die? I’ve done bad, yeah yeah, I admit it. But don’t you think this is punishment enough? This,” he gestured at the Goth Mansion. “This is my home too! I just admitted I did bad, may have deserved this punishment, but don’t throw me out too. Please. I have nothing left.”

But Bella wasn’t having any of it. “Pack your bags. You’re out.” Just like that, Calo had been reduced to nothing.

“Please,” Calo all but begged. “I wasn’t lying… You… you’re my family. You and Josiah… are my everything.”

Bella sat down next to him – for a moment, there, it looked like she might give in. But she wouldn’t. “Out,” is all she hissed, holding up her hand.

And just like that, the anger returned. “This… this is all your fault!! You fucking women!!” he screamed, pointing at Bella, then at Riley. “This is YOUR fault, not mine….! All I did for YOU,” he pointed at Bella, “Was give you a gift others would kill for! I fucking saved you! And you,” he was pointing at Riley, now. “I can’t help that you were too weak to hold my attention all those years ago. If you had been more of a woman…”

Riley cut in. “*If you had been more of a woman,*” she mocked in a singsong voice.

“Says the scrawniest little mama’s boy I have ever known. You’re pathetic, Calo. You have always been pathetic. If there’s one thing I’ve observed in my lifetime… it’s that those who hunt for power are usually the ones who lack on everything else. You lack on strength. On love. Who has ever loved you, Calo, except maybe your mother? Who do you have left in this world, other than those whose loyalty you forced? No one. And now that your power’s gone as well, you truly are no one. Goodbye, now. Let’s never meet again, huh?”

He wouldn’t admit it, but Riley’s words cut through him like a knife. And he couldn’t hide it, either. When he spoke again, his voice was noticeably softer. “What about Josiah?” he said. “What about my son? You can’t keep him from me,” he had turned to Bella again. “Please. He’s my son.”

But Bella held no pity for Calo. “Josiah will live a long, happy life… as far removed from his evil, toxic father as possible.”

Once again, Calo felt himself fill with rage. “He’s MY SON!” he screamed, pointing at himself. “You CAN’T KEEP HIM AWAY FROM ME! YOU CAN’T!”

Bella stood up, allowed her game face to show, and charged at him – she wasn’t gonna actually bite him… but boy, did she love scaring him. “Like hell I can’t.”

“Now…” she gestured dismissively with her hand. “Leave.”

And so he forcedly did.

***

The first thing he did when he’d been kicked out, was to find a way to take out his anger – and who better than James, the man who had betrayed him. Went over to his house, knocked on his door and the moment James opened Calo opened his mouth to lash out at him.

“There you are, you traitor,” he spat. “What a “man of honor” you are.”

“Don’t come at me, boy,” James warned, pointing his finger at him as he bared his fangs. “You got what was coming for you. I warned you. Told you there was only defeat in the path you chose to take… but you wouldn’t listen. And that’s on you. Also, I am no traitor. The moment your mother died – and she died by your doing, by the way – any promise I made for her, went.”

“I came to you,” Calo said, fuming with rage. “Asking your help…. take down the man who KILLED my mother – not me, HIM – and you said you’d help. You were supposed to be on MY side, and you betrayed me!”

“Let me make one thing very clear, you arrogant, impudent boy. I would NEVER side with the likes of you. Remember what I told you, back when you first started bothering me? I still stand by my words. You’re nothing. No one. And I, James Forsythe, don’t associate with no-ones.”

With that, he lunged at Calo.

“Oh, and by the way,” James added when he was done and Calo fell to the ground lifelessly. “Thanks for that “army” of yours. They’ll come in more than handy in MY fight… and mine will be successful. If there is one thing you did make me see, it is that it is time for me to aspire to even greater power. The time is ripe. So thank you, Calo Hoyt, for making me see… and for giving me the means to foresee my victory.”

***

“Say,” now that Calo had left and peace had been restored to the Goth household, Bella turned to Riley – they had been sitting on the sofa together, mindlessly watching some television. “Whatever happened to that alien ally you told me about?”

Riley shrugged.

***

Tika stumbled over the streets of Willow Creek – it was only now, more than a week after Nancy had thrown him out, that he finally ventured to think he probably should have thought about a plan. An address. Something. Anything. With his own hardships increasing by the day, Calo was the last thing on his mind. He’d had his revenge, he found during the few moments he allowed his thoughts to go there. He’d killed his precious mother. Figured he might as well make him live with that for the rest of his immortal life. He’d had his eye for an eye.

Right now, his energy was spent on his own lack of fortune. He didn’t even have enough money to buy back that rundown house he’d owned once. Although he’d told Nancy to “just give him some, get him off his feet, you’ve got enough of it anyway,” she had refused.

“Or… you could finally get off your ass and make your own.”

That was all very well, Tika thought bitterly, but she couldn’t possibly think he could just “get off his ass” and scrape enough money together to buy a house big enough for him and his children just like that. And so he ultimately, forcefully, knocked on the door of old “friend” Cortez. An absolute last resort, but it was all he had.

Even though it was late, Cortez invited him in. “So, here’s the thing…” Tika started…

…”So that’s why I need to crash at your place… you know, just for a bit. I’ll be out before you know it,” he finally finished, at least fifteen minutes later.

Cortez thought for a bit… and ultimately agreed. He may not be the best person in the world – he knew damn well that he wasn’t – but he wasn’t the type to turn away a friend in need. Besides, he might make some good use out of Tika’s presence. After all, it had been a while since he’d interacted with a fellow alien.

“Great,” Tika exclaimed. Went over to the front door and opened it; Cortez followed him suspiciously.

“Come on in, kids!”

“Kids..?” Cortez started.

“Yeah. You remember them, right?”

Cortez sighed. Great.

***

A/N: And that concludes Season 1! 🙌

11 Replies to “19. Invictus”

  1. I’m secretly happy that season one ends with a scene with Cortez!

    This was a really amazing season–so many surprises, so much fun, such great writing! Congratulations on completing it! I had a blast reading each post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!!! ❤❤ I am really so glad that you liked it. It took a bit for me to get things where I wanted them to be, and it wasn’t the easiest because I played this a year ago and had quite some loose ends and storylines written at that time to deal with… but I managed. 😅🙌 Cortez will, from hereon out, slowly become more and more of a regular character!

      Like

      1. I think amazing things can happen when we return to games and pics from long ago. We face special challenges in those types of stories, but they often turn out so rich and well-developed! You really pulled this off!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Loving all the wordplay with ‘blue language.’ Funny, I hadn’t learned the phrase until about a month before encountering it here: ‘purple prose’ is a common phrase, and ‘blue’ language might be a more obscure riff off of that. I don’t know. This entire paragraph is me publicly giving myself a pat on the back for getting the joke despite not being a humanities person.

    Ignoring Calo for a soap opera is such a baller move. So is sauntering off in the middle of a fight. He probably needed a glass of water.

    Taking on the smaller enemy and leaving your its-complicated to deal with a 1K-old grandmaster vampire: not a baller move. Throwing the whitest malest possible tantrum after being turned human: not a baller move. Shoving a middle finger into Calo’s face and rubbing it around, times three: baller move for sure.

    Bella asking where’s Tika and Riley being like iuno was my favorite scene here. AND NOW CORTEZ SHOWED UP!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll give you a pat on the back too…. that’s great, man!
      I have to admit that I found out about the phrase through reading fanfiction, and not at all through my 4-year English Language and Culture degree.

      The “whitest males possible tantrum” had me laugh out loud… that’s absolutely the vibe I was going for here… the entitled, spoiled white boy brat “you’re all beneath me and I rule!!” speech.

      Yay Cortez! And this time, he’s here to stay… sort of.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started